Best Practices

The Texas Fire Chiefs Association (TFCA) has developed a Best Practice program to encourage fire departments in Texas to seek continual improvement in their services to their local community.

There are twelve chapters which define best practices in the typical service areas provided by a fire department. This program is applicable to paid, combination, and volunteer fire organizations.

The TFCA encourages fire departments to pursue this third-party designation by completing the performance requirements outlined in the program.  This will be a challenging but worthwhile endeavor for organizations pursuing this designation.

The TFCA further encourages fire departments to pursue accreditation through the Center for Public Safety Excellence. The TFCA Best Practices program will help facilitate progress toward national accreditation for those seeking this designation.

The TFCA worked closely with progressive fire officers throughout Texas to create a program that defines a pathway to organizational excellence which ultimately enhances firefighter safety, long-term planning, standard operating guidelines, deployment analysis, risk management, and other administrative functions. While most communities believe their local fire department is excellent, elected officials, city managers, fire chiefs and citizens have the opportunity to verify this belief by their fire department attaining this best practices designation. It is always preferred that an independent third party determine if an organization functions at a defined level of excellence.

The TFCA Best Practices program provides a pathway for a fire department to push its level of service to a status of excellence that is validated by independent experts. This designation will demonstrate to customers of these organizations that their fire department is among the very best in the Texas fire service.

Enroll in Best Practices Today

Best Practices logo

Best Practices Forms

Application For TMLIRP Funding for First Year of Best Practices

TMLIRP can provide funding for first year fees to member agencies that enter the  TFCA Best Practices Recognition Program. Funding is on a first come basis, with yearly update fees the responsibility of the member entity.  

Learn More

Recognized Departments

  • Addison Fire Department
  • Bedford Fire Department
  • Belton Fire Department
  • Bryan Fire Department
  • Coppell Fire Department
  • Corsicana Fire Rescue
  • Highland Village Fire Department
  • Hutto Fire Rescue
  • Irving Fire Department
  • Keller Fire Department
  • Kilgore Fire Department
  • Lake Cities Fire Department
  • Lake Worth Fire Department
  • Longview Fire Rescue
  • McKinney Fire Department
  • Melissa Fire Department
  • Mesquite Fire Department
  • North Richland Hills Fire Rescue
  • Prosper Fire Department
  • Red Oak Fire Rescue
  • Roanoke Fire Department
  • Rowlett Fire Rescue
  • South Montgomery County Fire Department
  • University Park Fire Department
  • Victoria Fire Department
  • Watauga Fire Department
  • Webster Fire
  • Wylie Fire Rescue

Getting Started

Before officially enrolling in the program please review the Administrative Guide as well as the Program Manual. We strongly encourage those who plan to enroll review all the documents available so they may be fully informed of the responsibilities of both the candidate departments and the TFCA.  

By completing this form, you will be officially enrolled in the Best Practices Program.  Before beginning, designate a primary contact on this enrollment form who will be the one you anticipate handling the majority of the submissions for the program. 

Annual Fees

  • 1-10 Fire Fighters - $350
  • 11-25 Fire Fighters - $500
  • 26-50 Fire Fighters - $1,200
  • 51-100 Fire Fighters - $1,600
  • 101-200 Fire Fighters - $2,000
  • 201 or more Fire Fighters - $2,400
Sign Up Today!

Best Practices Committee

  • Chief Neil Howard, Chair
  • Stan Tinney
  • Dale Skinner
  • Kade Long
  • JP Steelman
  • Michael Gdovin
  • Gregg Loyd
  • Todd Weidman
  • Keith Scarbrough
  • Johnny Bellows
  • Ben Blanton
  • Shawn Fannan
  • Scott Eager
  • David Jones

Best Practices Recognition Board

  • Chief Robert Isbell, Committee Chair, Round Rock
  • Chris Connealy, Senior Director of Emergency Services of Williamson County
  • Ron Holifield, Strategic Government Resources
  • Bob Leiper, City Manager (ret’d), Baytown
  • Paul Gunnels, TEEX
  • Julie Acevedo, Political Consultant
  • Dr. Geoffrey Tumlin, On-Demand Leadership
  • Burney Basket, Rowlett Fire Rescue

Best Practices Candidate Departments

  • Alice Fire Department
  • Annaville Fire Department
  • Cedar Hill Fire Department
  • Celina Fire Department
  • DeSoto Fire Rescue
  • Flower Mound Fire Department
  • Glenn Heights Fire Department
  • Kyle Fire Department
  • Lake Worth Fire Department
  • Little Elm Fire Department
  • Mesquite Fire Department
  • Nueces County ESD#2
  • Odessa Fire Rescue
  • Porter Fire Department
  • Richardson Fire Department
  • Schertz Fire Rescue
  • Shavano Park Fire Department
  • Temple Fire and Rescue
  • Terrell Hills Fire Department
  • Town of Westlake Fire - EMS Department
  • Travis County ESD1
  • Westminster Fire Rescue
  • Wilson County District 2 Emergency Services